Nursing,Clinicians,Patient Care,Patient Services,Regulatory,

Departments & Programs,Programs and Initiatives


ICD-10 - Departments & Programs, Programs and Initiatives

The transition to ICD-10 is required for everyone covered by the Health Insurance Portability Accountability Act (HIPAA). Since 2010, UW Health has been preparing for the transition to ICD-10.  On October 1, 2015, UW Health will be compliant with the mandate.


Journey of a Medical Code

ICD-10 impacts many UW Health faculty and staff. Find out the specific types of changes each role should expect to see, and what types of training, support and resources are available:


What is ICD-10?

The International Classification of Diseases, ICD,is a classification system of diseases, signs and symptoms, abnormal findings, complaints, social circumstances and external causes of injury or diseases. It is maintained by the World Health Organization (WHO).

The current edition, ICD-9, has more than 14,000 different diagnosis codes. A companion volume, PCS, likewise classifies procedures. It contains approximately 4000 procedural codes (PCS) and is used solely in the United States.

The next edition, ICD-10, expands to more than 68,000 diagnosis clinical modification (CM) codes and up to 87,000 PCS codes.

What are the Benefits of ICD-10?

What is the History behind the International Classification of Diseases (ICD) system?

Why Replace ICD-9?


Internal Resources

ICD-10 Comments and Questions Form

Outside Resources

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services ICD-10

IMO® and ICD-10 Compliance